Skip to content

Ra Ra Riot

March 4, 2009

I’m such a loser.  Last night I went to Costa Mesa to watch Ra Ra Riot alone.  To add to the suck-fest, I was informed to come to the show well in advance because I was buying tickets at the door.  When I arrived, it was clearly not going to sell out and I was tricked into coming early so I would buy tons of Coors Light.  It worked.  However, drinking by myself made me feel even worse about being alone so I began smoking cigarettes for the next two hours.  That probably made me feel even more worse.  Let’s recap:

The openers were alright.  They were called Cut Off Your Hands.  The only thing I could remember was how strange their accents were.  I couldn’t figure it out.  Sometimes they sounded British and then other times something much stranger.  I didn’t find out until the very end when they played their last song and announced where they were from.

zealandposterlikelotr1600x1200-vijpg1

Fucking Kiwis.

Ra Ra Riot finally came out at around 11pm.  They basically played their entire new album, which was good because I only have that one album.  The night closed with “Dying is Fine” and I rushed home feeling like crap from all the Marlboro and Coors.  What did I learn from tonight?  I probably need more friends who like music and less board games.  (And yes, that is all that we seem to ever do in Orange County.  Shoot me now.)

rarariotpostfay500jpg

How Cute!

She was H.O.T.

She was H.O.T.

Jermaine?  Present.

Jemaine? Present.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 7, 2009 10:25 am

    excuse me! whats wrong with board games?!?! 🙂 and you should have called me and brian to go with you! although in these harsh economic times, we probably would have said no…

Leave a Reply

