Skip to content

Laid-OFF!

March 19, 2009

So, yesterday the economy finally hit me.  I got laid-off at WATG, which effectively ends my days in California.  There is a three-month window for me from now to July when my lease ends.  I will take this time to enjoy Southern California as much as possible.

Today, I quickly went into save mode and cancelled everything I wouldn’t need to humanely survive.  I was on the brink of canceling television as well, but realized that I’d be pretty fuckin’ bored for three months without television.  I mean what would I do?  Read??? Come on!  In total I think I saved $100 a month already.  I also went to Coinstar and got another $40 with loose change.  And then I asked Citibank for cash redemption on my credit card.  Another $66.

The rest of the day consisted of me lounging by the pool.  Which sounds fun, but I realize, now, being unemployed means you tend to be around other unemployed.  To compound the problem, I was at the pool at 1 in the afternoon; primetime for us unemployed to mingle. One lady mentioned to me that she was trying to find a job at Trader Joe’s but couldn’t because she just had a DUI where she caused a four car pileup and almost killed a person.  And SHE was complaining about how the government is screwing her for not letting her drive!  I hate my life.

On the plus side, the layoff did coincide with March Madness so I’ll give WATG props for that.  I’m in basketball heaven this weekend.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2009 6:58 am

    Interesting blog, I’ll try and spread the word.

  2. March 19, 2009 3:36 pm

    My husband was laid off Monday with 860 people. I have a few helpful hints on my blog. For other people just laid off,I learned yesterday, do NOT call your mortgage company. I fought with them for an hour, then called Senator Barbara Boxer’s office to complain. The Senator’s office referred me to “Hope Now” and I was given much better advice and free financial counseling, 24 hours a day, from a nonprofit. The counseling company will NEGOTIATE with your lenders. When I called my lender to protect my equity and assets, I have an account in excellent standing, credit score in the high 700, and no late payments in 10 years. Know what Chase Finance did? The sent me to Collections! Gave me their lawyer, recorded my call and answers to collection questions THREE seperate times, and did not offer any assistance. Dump the Lender Support, they are not your friend. Call Hope Now or the Senators Office instead.
    Hope Now (888) 99504673
    Barbara Boxer (415) 403-1000
    HUD (202) 708-1112

Leave a Reply

