Skip to content

Coachella Day One: Friday

April 20, 2009

Home.  Finally.  This week I’ll have numerous posts about Coachella varying from music reviews to simple musings.  So, we drove to Indio, CA at 8:30 AM and got there relatively fast.  In fact there was little traffic and we were kinda surprised how easy it was to get in.  I’m not really the outdoor-sy type, but we set up camp quickly and began eating trail mix and beef jerky.  This would be our meal for the next three days.  Here is a recap of who we saw on Friday:

1. Dear and the Headlights.  They weren’t bad at all.  We described the lead singer’s voice as something close to Hot Hot Heat.  We were especially glad that it was in a tent and away from the hot Mexican sun (AD reference, anyone??)

2. Noah and the Whale.  A British band (a recurring theme at Coachella this year and I guess every year) and one that sounding very good, despite some hiccups by the lead singer.  He sang a song in the wrong note and had to start over.  He needs to play Rock Band more.

3. Los Campesinos.  They rocked that tent.  Again, there were some technically difficulties.  However, they had the most energy I saw all day.

4. Conor Oberst.  Man, he went really, really country.  He walked around with a giant cowboy hat and a Southern drawl.  Not really my cup of tea but at least he seemed happy with the direction his music has taken.

Yee-Haw!

Yee-Haw!

5. Leonard Cohen.  The old man can still jam.  It was very mellow, and happened right as the sun was setting and the whole place started to cool down.

6. Beirut.  I have every one of their albums yet I wasn’t entirely compelled to see them.  The funniest thing was that every time the lead singer played the trumpet, the girls in the audience would got bananas.  I think I should start playing the trumpet if you know what I mean.

7. Girl Talk.  There’s already tons of douche bags at Coachella.  But when Girl Talk plays, it sends out a beacon for all the d-bags at the festival to congregate.  Let’s just say there were lots of teenagers wearing 80’s clothing, ironically.

Tell me who ISN'T a douchebag in this picture!

Tell me who ISN'T a douchebag in this picture!

8. Sir Paul McCartney.  Apparently I missed an acoustic set by A Place to Bury Strangers for this.  But it was all worth it.  I could have cared less that he was at the festival, but as soon as he started playing his shit, I was mesmerized.  The guy played hit after hit.  Even the cheesy Wings stuff was good.  He had two encores and went well past the midnight curfew.  In fact, I read that for every minute you go past 12, you get fined $1000 by the Indio Police.  He played til 1:30 AM.  Indio Police and ME for the win!  Honestly, I think everyone should see him just for his Beatles stuff.  Plus he’s a knight.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 20, 2009 8:41 pm

    I am very jealous that I wasn’t able to come out for this…plan to go again next year? If so I may try to make it. Looks like you got to see quite a variety of shows.

    Look forward to the following posts

Leave a Reply

