Skip to content

Chillin’ in Berlin

June 4, 2009

Here are a few of my favorite photos from Berlin.  The city is massive and has so many fun things to see.  The history of it all really fascinates me.  It felt like a living monument to all the conflicts from the early 1900’s to 1980’s.

On a side note, the Berlin Jewish Museum marked the FOURTH Jewish museum I’ve been to during my Eurotrip.  Man, I love Jews.

Amsterdam Next…..

The Berlin Jewish Museum.  Designed by Daniel Lebskind.

The Berlin Jewish Museum. Designed by Daniel Lebskind.

I loved this building so much I'm putting it in twice.

I loved this building so much I'm putting it in twice.

Okay, I lied.  The next two images will also be from the museum.  This is a space for tranquility that I found quite calming.

Okay, I lied. The next two images will also be from the museum. This is a space for tranquility that I found quite calming.

I wonder how he decided the angle on those beams....

I wonder how he decided the angle on those beams....

The Bauhaus Archives.  Didn't go inside but I thought the building was interesting.

The Bauhaus Archives. Didn't go inside but I thought the building was interesting.

A monument for the dead soldiers of the Soviet Union.

A monument for the dead soldiers of the Soviet Union.

The New National Gallery by Mies Van de Rohe.  Not to be confused with the old national gallery.

The New National Gallery by Mies Van de Rohe. Not to be confused with the old national gallery.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Fabio permalink
    June 5, 2009 2:39 pm

    Check out Edward Rothstein’s recent article in the New York Times. He gives Daniel Libeskind a well-deserved trashing for “trivializing the Holocaust” with this appallingly tasteless museum. He likens Libeskind’s work to a cheap amusement ride that sacrifices feeling for cheap sensationalism.

    According to Rothstein: “There may be worse Jewish museums in the world than the Jüdisches Museum Berlin, which opened in 2001. But it is difficult to imagine that any could be as uninspiring and banal, particularly given its pedigree and promise.”

    Libeskind has been getting away with his pretentious formalism, sacrificing real meaning for self-indulgent expression. Rothstein calls him on the con act that Libeskind really is.

Trackbacks

  1. 2010 in review « Dan's Banana Blog

Leave a Reply

