Skip to content

Back in America…and Ready to Read?!

July 29, 2009

Well I’m back in America.  Unfortunately, I don’t have any photos to show from S. Korea.  I left the camera at home because it was strictly a family vacation.  Maybe I’ll post some of the family photos when I get my hands on them.  Anywayz…

To pass my time in lovely Mission Viejo, I decided to start reading again.  Not that I haven’t read anything over the past few years.  I’m an avid magazine reader and I constantly scour the Internet for articles.  Yet, I’ve been surprisingly void of any book reading since I’ve been in California.  The other day, I looked at my “library” and was shocked to find out what books I had in California.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Eat This Not That

The Secret

Twilight

Dangerous Book for Boys

WATG Architecture Book

That’s it!  My library had two self-help books and two children’s novels.  Nothing in there of any literary merit.  I was shocked and ashamed.  The next day I went to the Mission Viejo Library and began checking out books (Remember I still have no money).  My first book?

The Brief Wonderous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz.  A pulitzer prize winner.  I’m reading it now and find it very engaging.  I think I’ll read a few books a week and really catch up on the last few years.  Let me know if there are some books I should read…I have plenty of time!

P.S.  I’ve decided to write down what I’m watching, what I’m listening to, and what I’m reading after each post.  Kind of a way for you to understand my tastes and moods.

What I’m listening to:

Owl City : Ocean Eyes – I love emo/electronica.  Plus the cover has the Palm Jumeirah on it.  This guy loves architecture.

What I’m reading:

The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz – See Above.

What I’m watching:

Domino, directed by Tony Scott.  Suspenseful action movie starring Keira Knightly.  It kept me on my toes and was wonderfully directed.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. mike permalink
    July 30, 2009 12:41 am

    what/??? your twitter says domino starring natalie portman!

  2. josh permalink
    July 30, 2009 10:50 am

    oscar wao was alright. i just read city of thieves… that shit was hot. also, time travelers wife is probably one of the best books i’ve ever read.

  3. cubbies550 permalink*
    July 30, 2009 12:02 pm

    haha, kiera knightly, natlie portma they’re the same actress!

  4. cubbies550 permalink*
    July 30, 2009 12:02 pm

    i can’t tell if you’re being sarcastic about the time traveler’s wife..but i’m guessing you are.

Leave a Reply

