Skip to content

Korea Day

August 25, 2009

Since it looks like I’m going to have an early departure back to Chicago, I decided that I would see as much of Los Angeles as possible.  Today, I decided to go to LACMA (Los Angeles County Museum of Art) and enjoy some contemporary and modern art.

On my way there, I remembered I wanted to check out the Kogi BBQ Truck.  Via twitter, I found out it was very close to the museum near Fox Studios and UCLA.  I got the Korean Short Rib and Korean Spicy Pork Tacos.  Delicious.  But in reality, it seems like something I can probably make at home and not have to drive all around L.A. following directions from my iPhone.  At least I got to say I did it.

Once I got to LACMA I discovered that the special exhibit was about 12 contemporary Korean artists.  Now I definitely had Korea on my mind.  The museum is actually pretty small in terms of collection.  The campus is HUGE with four or five large buildings.  However, I easily walked through each one without feeling overwhelmed.  I think LACMA tended to have large atrium spaces and even larger sculptures (Massive Richard Serra pieces that took up one entire floor).  I greatly enjoyed the museum and would not hesitate to go again.  Modern Art is right up my ally and I was extremely happy with the amount of Pop Art and Sculpture that was spread out through the museum.

LACMA in the Sun

LACMA in the Sun...sorry about the quality, they were from my phone.


Lots of Pop Art...Warhol, Koons, etc.  I love the Balloon Animal made of steel!

Lots of Pop Art...Warhol, Koons, etc. I love the Balloon Animal made of steel!


Iconic Warhol Image.

Iconic Warhol Image.


Art Installation of one of the Korean Artists..the name slips my mind.

Art Installation of one of the Korean Artists..the name slips my mind.

I ended up leaving LACMA at 4 pm.  It was probably the worst decision I made all day.  It took me ages to get back down to Orange County.  I decided that I couldn’t take it anymore and sidetracked it to BCD Tofu House for some Korean dinner.  I just had to at this point.  It was great and I forgot how good Korean food could be.  Since I got back from Korea I haven’t gone that much.

Back at home now, sipping on some Sonic Cherry Limeade.  I’m addicted.

What I’m Listening To:

The Beatles.  I gotta sharpen up before Rock Band: The Beatles comes out.

What I’m Reading:

The Architecture of Happiness by Alain de Botton.  Saw it at a Borders and figured it would interest me.  It’s essentially a beginners guide to Architecture, but very well written.

What I’m Watching:

District 9.  It’s the bomb.  Aliens and politics.  Very relevant to us…I’m looking at you Minutemen!!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

