Skip to content

I Already Work Around the CLOCK!!

January 19, 2010

While there are few bright sides to unemployment, laundry was one of them.  For nine months, I essentially wore t-shirts every day.  To compound the matter, I lived in California so I rarely even changed clothes for seasonal reasons.  Laundry was a breeze.  To be honest, some weeks I wore the same shirt for like three days straight.

Fast-forward to present-day and I’m back wearing collared shirts and dress pants.  To go from lazy slob to professional so quickly was a bit daunting.  I still find myself wanting to just wear a t-shirt and shorts to work.

Why is this a big deal?  Because “I ALREADY WORK AROUND THE CLOCK!” (hehe, I’m not even in America but I find this internet meme hilarious).

Let me tell you a little something about other cultures.  It’s something that I already knew with experiences in South Korea.  Most countries work way more than America and Europe.  It’s ridiculous.  My weekend is essentially one day a week.  They tell me that Saturday is optional, but EVERYBODY comes in.  I have very little free time.  And here is why laundry has become such a big issue for me.

I literally spent all Friday afternoon washing and drying clothes.  Why?  Well, one, they don’t have dryers here.  Egyptians don’t understand why you would need one.

Why wouldn’t I need one?!!

So I don’t have to wait two days for my socks to dry!

Ironing was another issue.  While I don’t blame Egypt for creating this concept, it still took another two hours of my life.  There’s a reason why I took my clothes to the dry cleaners back in the States.  I know it’s expensive, but I hated ironing.  I’m no good at it and it’s so time-consuming.

At this point, I’m resigned to the fact that every two weeks my weekends will consist of the washer, iron, and many bottles of beer (Anyone remember SUDS in Champaign where there was a bar in the Laundromat?  Good times).

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 24, 2010 9:38 pm

    Interesting to read. T-shirts are our best friends if we like comfortable clothing.

Leave a Reply

