Skip to content

Egypt Wins and I’m Drunk and Tired

February 1, 2010

Normally my weeks are very typical.  Work six days, and then relax on Friday.  Repeat.  However, this week was quite eventful compared to other weeks.  First the Egyptian Football team is playing in the CAF 2010 in Angola.  It’s significant because Egypt failed to qualify for the World Cup so this tournament IS their World Cup.  Secondly, WATG was coming in to town for meetings which was slightly awkward for me but ultimately nothing to worry about.

First up was a group of London WATG Interior Designers whom I’ve never met.  Unfortunately for me, they came on a Police Holiday (Not entirely sure what it is, I just got a memo written in Arabic about it) which meant I was going to come into work on my day off.   Everything would have been fine except the meeting started at 6 PM and lasted ’til 2 AM.  Late night work sessions with confused Arabic contractors is not my idea of a good time.  To quote Clerks, “I wasn’t even supposed to be here today.”

I wasn't even supposed to be here today.

By Thursday, I was thoroughly tired from lack of sleep and long hours.  Thursday, however, was the semi-finals of the CAF.  Algeria vs. Egypt.  It means nothing to us, but there’s a bitter rivalry between the two countries which culminated in Algeria eliminating Egypt from the World Cup qualifications.  Perfectly set up as a revenge game, Egypt won 4-0 and the city became more lively than I’d ever seen it.  Fireworks and chanting ensued and I didn’t get to sleep until much later than I wanted.  All this for a semi-finals match.

Saturday was the first day that Ron and Allison would arrive to the office.  Finally, a friendly face.  I’ve strangely started to get super excited whenever I see a white person in Egypt, almost like I know them.  Well this time I did know them.  We ended up having dinner at one of the many Nile Riverboat restaurants.  Of course being there with Ron meant I would be drinking more than before in Egypt.  I’ve cut down alcohol to zero while in the Middle East, which is good for my health, but horrible for my tolerance.  Inevitably, the next morning I woke up with an enormous headache.

We had planned on Sunday to meet up again to watch the Finals Match and hopefully celebrate an Egyptian victory.  We, again, pounded beers as we watched Egypt win 1-0.  The city exploded as soon as the final whistle blew.  While driving home, it was bumper-to-bumper traffic and everyone hanging from the door waving their flags and honking their horns.  I’ve never seen so many people out to celebrate.

People on the Streets Celebrating

I think I’m meeting up with the WATG folks again tonight for one last dinner and drinks.  But I’m really just praying Friday comes soon and I can catch up on some sleep.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Josh permalink
    February 4, 2010 8:18 am

    I meant to put that comment on this one.

  2. Jowett permalink
    February 4, 2010 11:19 pm

    Oh this will be awesome…when you get back, I’ll be able to drink you under the table sukka!

    • cubbies550 permalink*
      February 6, 2010 3:15 am

      Except now I can smoke you under the table…That’s What She Said!!!

  3. Schmitt permalink
    February 22, 2010 9:00 pm

    Speaking of excited… I get excited whenever I see a Dong look-a-like and I almost pee’d myself when I turned to this page of Wired: http://www.wired.com/magazine/wp-content/images/18-02/mf_cheezking1a_f.jpg

    Since I’m racist and all Asians look the same, I get excited A LOT.

    • cubbies550 permalink*
      February 23, 2010 2:37 am

      Its okay, I think all Schmitts look the same.

Leave a Reply

