Skip to content

The Citadel

March 28, 2010

After months being in Cairo I visited the Citadel the other day.  Not really that much to see unless you have a strange fascination with the military, which Egyptians seem to have (Every bridge here is named after a war date.  For example I live near the October 6th Bridge).  I really wanted to take this opportunity to just take pictures and sit on the lawn and sketch.  However, I stick out like a sore thumb here in Egypt.  I’ve been here for a while now and people still think I’m a tourist (Why shouldn’t they?  I’m an Asian dude walking around Cairo).  I hear from random strangers, “Welcome to Egypt!” on a daily basis.  I’ve gotten over trying to explain to them that I’ve been “welcomed” four months ago.  In fact, there’s a street peddler stationed right next to my apartment and each day he tries to sell me fake papyrus.  I have no clue if he doesn’t recognize me or he’s just hoping one day I’ll give in.

Back to the Citadel.  As soon as I sit down on the lawn and pull out my sketchbook, a horde of small children circle around me.  I couldn’t draw in peace!  At first I humored them and spoke the few Arabic words I knew.  But after the 20th time a kid asked me what my name was I began ignoring them.  They were really sweet, but sometimes you just want to be left alone.  They wouldn’t leave until I finished my drawing.  I really wish they sold t-shirts that said, “I’m not a tourist.  I live here” in Arabic.  It would solve a lot of problems.

Here are a few pictures I took on my visit.  Enjoy.

Mosque of Mohamed Ali

Backside of the Mosque

Cairo Skyline

A "famous" well. Couldn't find a thing in there.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jason Van Auker permalink
    March 30, 2010 1:59 am

    hey, it’s smoggier in the OC than in your Cairo skyline shot. Hope everything is going well for your over there – starting to feel “at home” if that’s possible. Drop me a line as another ex-WATG’er might be interested in working with you and Mo…

Leave a Reply

