Skip to content

Pyramids. Finally.

April 25, 2010

I finally visited the Pyramids over the weekend.  I went with my friend Mahmoud, who helped shield me from the barrage of street peddlers who tried to sell me trinkets and camel rides.  I was first struck by how large the Pyramids were.  Pictures do not do it justice.

We entered from the parking lot which is adjacent to the largest Pyramid (the Great Pyramid).  The entry to the chamber was closed until later in the day so I decided to enter one of the smaller tombs.  I’ve chronicled my fear of mummies a lot on this blog, so let’s just say I was sweating bullets when I descended down into the tomb.  To my relief, it was empty and no scary hieroglyphics to warn me about entering the chambers.  I took a few pictures and booked it out of there.

We then rented a horse carriage to tour the rest of the “smaller” pyramids.  Small compared to the Great Pyramid but still friggin’ huge.  After a few photo-ops, we walked down to the Sphinx.  The funniest thing was that all the locals would take absurd pictures using depth of field.  They would pretend that they were kissing the Sphinx or pinching the top of the Pyramids.  So of course I also took a picture of myself doing how the locals do.

Yeah...I suck at grabbing Pyramids. Grabbing bananas, on the other hand....

We ended the day on some camels even though Mahmoud was deathly scared of them.  I really only did it because I had promised Derrick that I would send him a picture of me on camel back.

Just for you, Derrick.

I faced my fears and didn’t get attacked by mummies.  I think it was a successful day.

Here are a few more pictures from my trip:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

– –

What I’m listening to:

The Bird and the Bee – Interpreting the Masters Volume 1: A Tribute to Daryl Hall and John Oates.  The title says it all.  I love yacht rock.

The Bird and the Bee – Kiss on My List

What I’m reading:

The Girl With the Dragon Tatoo by Stieg Larsson.  Finished the book in just a few days.  I wouldn’t say it was literary masterpiece, but it was a real page turner.  I’ve actually tried to look for the sequel at bookstores, but haven’t found it yet.

What I’m watching:

Clash of the Titans.  Okay.  They need to stop making 3-D movies.  Avatar was good.  These are crappy.  The action was just OK and I would say the 3-D was distracting more than anything.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

