Skip to content

Alex and Borg el Arab

June 7, 2010

Over the weekend I had to go to Borg el Arab for a site visit.  Since it was only an hour away from Alex (Alexandria) I decided it was a good time to see the second largest city in Egypt.  I had only one day so I had to cram a lot in a short amount of time.  The problem, of course, was we were running on Egyptian time.

I drove up with Mahmoud, who offered to show me around, and arrived at the Sheraton Montazah at 1pm.  I then waited for 4 hours until he came back to show me around.  We then went on a whirlwind tour of the city until it got dark.

view of the mediterranean sea from my hotel

We finished off the night with some amazing seafood (100LE  for 2!!) and had some shisha near the Stanley Bridge (I’ll definitely have to come back to Alex again).

one of the few truly modern buildings i've seen in egypt

this huge palace was right next to my hotel

In the morning, we went to our site which was due to open in ten days, but looked like it needed another month.  We’ll see how this ends up.

borg el arab resort...opening in ten days!

P.S. I’m coming home next month.  Clear your calendars (July 2 to July 12)!!!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

