Skip to content

Typical Conversation with an Egyptian

June 29, 2010

Me: Hello.

Egyptian: Welcome to Egypt.

Me: Thanks?

(Note: I’ve been here for six months now)

Egyptian: Where you from?

Me: America

(Awkward silence)

Egyptian: But your face?

Me: What?

Egyptian: You don’t look American.

Me: Oh, I’m Korean.

(Biting my lip)

Egyptian: Ahhhh.

(You can see it in his eyes that he’s finally satisfied)

Egyptian: How come all Chinese, Japanese, and Korean look the same?

(Continues ignorant conversation even though I’m clearly annoyed)

Me: How come all Arabic people look the same?

Egyptian: What?! We look way different from each other.

(I stare at him blankly)

And Scene! I’ve probably had this conversation once a week with someone here.  And you thought Americans were ignorant!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Shanna permalink
    June 29, 2010 5:33 pm

    So, when I was in Oman, I would get men coming up to me and assuming I was a prostitute since most asian women there are. The women in the markets just gave me dirty looks.

  2. Justin permalink
    June 30, 2010 4:37 pm

    weird…i always thought they were saying “end scene.” man, that must’ve caused some awkward situations and i didn’t even know :O

Leave a Reply

