Skip to content

It’s Been A Long Time

December 27, 2010

Oops.  Forgot to blog about my life.

To be honest, not much has happened.  Work has been extremely intense and so I haven’t had as much free time as I’d like.  There was a stretch there in early December when I worked for 14 days straight…yuck.  Things have eased up lately but since Christmas isn’t really celebrated here, I’m already back at work.

So what’s been going on in my life?  Well I grew a mustache.  Since I wasn’t going on vacation I took a vacation from myself!  It’s been pretty exciting as I like stroking it (That’s what she said!).

taking a vacation from myself

I suprisingly got Wimberley’s Save-the-Date!  I didn’t give it much chance since Krystal’s invitation never arrived to me.  Now the hard part; trying to figure out if I can actually make it to her wedding!

egyptian postal sevices comes through!

In other news, I FINALLY visited my cousin who lives IN Cairo.  Yes, I had a cousin here this whole time, and yes it took a whole year for me to finally meet her.  It was the first time I’ve met her in 25 years.  We ended up going to a Korean restaurant in Maadi called Gaya and had Pork Belly!  Pork has finally been allowed back into Cairo via distributors from Brazil.  I’m pretty sure I ate a whole pig by myself.

cousin's place...we used to own the same wooden ducks

At night, they took me to a Christmas party which turned out to be a Christmas-CAROL singing party….they kinda skipped carol part out of the description.  And in typical embarassing Korean ways, they made me sing White Christmas in front of everyone…by myself.  I needed a lot of alcohol for that party.  Interestingly enough, they’ve lived here for ten years and already my Arabic is WAY better than theirs.  Koreans are the worst at learning new languages.

I’ve continued to watch the Bears thanks to some friends who have NFL GamePass.  This has made Cairo much more bearable.

i've especially enjoyed watching this guy

Well I think that’s all that happened during December and the Holidays.  My time here in Egypt is winding down so I’ll let everyone know soon what my next plans are.

Happy Holidays!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jowett permalink
    December 27, 2010 9:03 pm

    Nice stache…you are SO emo!

  2. Wimberley permalink
    January 20, 2011 10:10 pm

    I’m shocked that the save-the-date made it Cairo. YEAH!!! Now let’s see if you can make it to California.

Leave a Reply

